ICYMI – Brian Lambert dropped an electrifying new EP on June 12th. I recollect my first thoughts when hearing it up to release was that it reminded me of MC5 meets Gorrillaz. “Sonic” is a word that comes to mind when I listen to it, an array of musical frequency, if you will. The listening experience brings you quite the assortment of synthesizers, crunchy distorted guitars, punchy drums, and some of the fattest low end bass tones lines I’ve heard in a Rock production. That in and of itself has had this EP on my daily regimen of jams. Add in what I would consider to be Lambert’s signature and captivating vocal prowess, and that has made this release an addictive experience for me thus far.

The EP consists of 6 tracks in entirety and it flows together like an old school album would. Really easy listen start to finish, the ambience and trippy in between tracks like “Saint Batman” and “Sportsing” tie all the songs together almost like a medley, similarily to taking in the B-side of The Beatles’ “Abbey Road.” My personal favorite on the EP is “Little Things,” an infectiously melodic tune that rocks hard. The EP’s title track, “Everything’s a Business” is just as habit forming, and gets stuck in my head for days:

@quizboybendayho

“Everything’s a Business” by @Brian Lambert Music and more out now!!!! #golistentothissong #independentartist

♬ Everything’s A Business – Brian Lambert

I’ve been following Brian Lambert’s music for a while now, and he has developed an interesting “arc” over time as an artist, I think. Since releasing his ode to horror movie lore, 2023’s “Wild,” he has put out an excellent live album on Bandcamp and a pair of singles: “Never Back Down (Feat. Harmoni Kelley, As Particles Collide),” and the appropriately titled, in-your-face tune, “Face Master.” Musically, “Everything’s a Business” hits me as a culmination of all of these happenings at once. It posesses the earthy, straight up Rock and Roll swagger of “Wild,” the larger-than-life sound that came with “Never Back Down / Face Master,” and a dynamic vocal performance familiar to anyone who’s had the pleasure of attending his live performances.

The “Brian Lambert arc” even includes an evil-twin/doppelgänger on Twitter now. What? Yeah, serious. How funny is that? No, it’s not me! I personally think it’s someone out of the Scoopski camp. Probably that DJ Juan Headly. And that’s what’s fun about the whole thing: the “mystique” of this Evil Brian Lambert now running around, plundering and “killing” my indie friends on social media, has had me rolling a time or two. It bodes well with Mr. Lambert too, the “not evil” one, who has historically been an artist who engages regularly with his followers on social media about philosophical musings, mental health awareness, horror movies of course, and his passion for the San Antonio Spurs basketball team (which, revelently notable, pours over into the new EP as well with the Ramones-esque “Go Spurs Go“). Add in some input from “Evil Brian” to those threads and well, it’s made following Brian’s endeavors all the more fun.

Follow Brian Lambert Online:

Streaming | Official Website | Twitter | YouTube

More Posts from the Blog Library…

Tune in to AMS RADIO

PLAYLISTS

Leave a comment

Trending